Unwritten Letters Project

14 Apr

ORIGINAL E-MAIL:

Hello,

Send me your letters!

Send me your letters!

I am writing to inform you all of a project I am working on called the “Unwritten Letters Project,” which will consist of the letters I am asking you to write. I am asking for letters you couldn’t/didn’t/never had the time to/forgot to/wanted to/meant to/never had the courage to write to anyone, alive or deceased. I encourage you to take the time out of your busy days and write what you’ve always wanted to say to:

a parent, sibling, childhood friend, best friend, co-worker, classmate, ex-boy/girlfriend, current significant other, child, any family member, boss or ex-boss, random stranger who affected you, influential (or non influential) teacher or professor or a crush you never told you liked, the jock, the cheerleader, the nerdy guy who sat in the third row in your math class…anyone, anywhere will do. I just want to give you the opportunity to say what you have always wanted to say, but never could.

These letters can be anonymous if you choose.  So, do not be afraid of people figuring out who you are.

Also, I will not judge anyone’s letters. I will be editing for grammar, but will not edit any content. It is YOUR writing, YOUR thoughts and YOUR emotions, and I welcome any and all forms of writing. It can be in your native language, a drawing that you hand to me, a poem, a song…anything. Express what you’ve wanted to express. The letters can be angry, sad, happy, or just a short phrase like “I’ve always loved you” or “thank you for everything.” Sometimes these things aren’t so easy to come out and say, so sit down, write it, send it and I thank ALL of you who participate.

Please spread the word by telling anyone who you think would participate, and send all letters back to alexboles@gmail.com.

One more thing. Please note that you can write more than one letter. I actually encourage you to write as many as you can. Also, if you would like to hand write them, just scan them in or request my mailing address.

BLOGGERS:

I HIGHLY encourage any and all of you to get something to me. It doesn’t have to be now, or tomorrow or even in the next few weeks. This will be a pretty big project for me, and I plan on collecting letters for a while before I do anything with them. I would really like to get as many as I can. They do not have to be long by ANY means, but lengthy submissions are OK as well. It can be anywhere from 10 to 10,000 words. I think you should write until you feel as though you’ve said what you’ve wanted to say.

You can post them as a comment on here anonymously or with your name. Only first names or initials will be used for anonymity purposes. Or you can send me an e-mail directly at alexboles@gmail.com. If you would like to hand write something, request my mailing address, please. Thank you everyone!!!!

– Alex –

P.S. If you have any questions, let me know through comment or e-mail!! I appreciate it. ❤

5 Responses to “Unwritten Letters Project”

  1. K.S. April 15, 2009 at 1:51 pm #

    Dear little girl in the back seat of the van in drive thru who told me I was pretty,

    Thank you. You made my day. The memory has made my day many times over the past three and a half years. I’ve never really thought of myself as pretty or that anyone else would think of me as pretty, so you thinking I was and saying so was really unexpected and heartwarming. I’m sorry I didn’t respond more appropriately than telling you that you were pretty too and asking what your name was. I feel like that really trampled the innocence and genuineness of your comment. I’m also sorry that I didn’t remember your name–you’d think I’d remember something like that. You really are pretty though, especially on the inside. I’ll never forget you.

    And tell your mom I said thanks, too, for rolling down your window.

    K.S.

  2. heartless April 15, 2009 at 8:50 pm #

    Dear Ex-Boyfriend,

    You have something of mine. No, not that case of beer I left at your place. (Which I do want back, btw)

    I want my heart back.

    I’ve been blessed/cursed with a willing heart, I have always been able to fall easily and fully commit myself to another person. Which is a wonderful feeling when you’re in a relationship, but when it’s over, it sucks donkey balls. I normally bounced back after my heart had been broken, eventually picking up the pieces and moving on, fearlessly giving my heart to the next guy.

    Then you came along. You seemed nearly perfect, you bought me flowers, you took me out on cute dates, you gave me a toothbrush. You have been and are going places, I have never dated someone like you. We were talking about taking trips together, making plans. Everything happened so quickly. I fell for you and I fell HARD, and I thought you had too. I knew I should be more cautious, but I was already in it and your actions made me swim further into the deep end.

    And then, as we both know, it got shot to hell. You got really weird seemingly overnight, you ditched me ON MY BIRTHDAY, you ignored me for a while, and then I caught you out with someone else. You chose her. (Bad idea btw, she’s kind of plain. She is the Sofia Coppola to my Diablo Cody. Downgrade.)

    Yeah, dick move. And we had the awkward break up talk, I was oddly cool with everything, now we’re still “friends” or “acquaintances” or whatever you call a friendly exchange between exes. I should hate you, right? After what you did to me? I sometimes wish I did. I trusted you with my heart, you took it and didn’t break it, you just kept it. Yeah, sometimes I wish I was with you and my heart, not her, but right now I just want the heart back.

    See, in the past, I said I mended my broken heart and kept going, and when someone else rolled around, I was free to dive in head first if need be. Now? I am incredibly detached from the guys that are interested in me, and I am so ridiculously scared to get close to them. Sure, this has helped me a few times when there have been some douchenozzle guys that just want to get in my pants. And it has helped me weed out the weirdos that are kind of nice, but kind of creepy nice. So, in that sense, you have saved me some heartache, so thanks, I guess.

    But what happens when a decent man actually worthy comes along? Am I going to do the same thing I did to these weirdos? My roommate is a very closed off and private person, it’s hard for her to truly allow herself to open herself up and love someone. She has always envied my openness and willingness to love.

    Sure, heartache hurts and is horrible, but when will I feel that pure, unadulterated, feeling of being in love again? I’m so scared that my blessing is gone. So, can I please have that there heart back? I want to feel something again. You found it with someone else behind my back, I think it’s only fair that you help me find that same bliss.

    The past few kisses I have had have been boring and lifeless, I can’t connect. Can’t even fake it. I want another good kiss. And since it’s not going to be from you, I’d appreciate your help so I can find it from someone else.

    -Heartless.

  3. I'm Yours April 16, 2009 at 3:12 am #

    Dear you,

    I never thought I’d find the most perfect person in the world. I always believed he was out there, somewhere. I wondered how we’d meet and what kind of things we would have in common. I couldn’t wait to meet him.

    Well, it’s happened. We’ve met and now I cannot imagine life without you. That cheesy line from Wedding Crashers says: “True love is your soul’s recognition of its counterpoint in another.” I don’t think that could be more true.

    I feel like I can tell you anything, but my shyness has stopped me from truly expressing my feelings towards you. We’ve been together for years and you know that I love you, but do you realize that I am 100% head over heels for you? There can never be another. You’re the one and I can’t wait until college is over to see where life takes us. I hope you know that wherever you go, I will be right behind you. Even in my darkest days, and there are more than I’d like to admit, you’re always the light at the end of the tunnel. The relationships around us come and go, but we’ve stayed strong.

    We have a lifetime of memories ahead of us, do you see them too? Our wedding, our kids, our dogs, our matching rocking chairs? I can’t wait. My life has never been laid out for me, but it’s good to know that I can check “finding my soulmate” off of the list.

    My wish is that everyone can have this feeling. There is someone for everyone; you never know who they are or where they come from, but they are out there. Good luck; it’s gonna be amazing.

    Love,
    Your one and only

  4. A. S. April 16, 2009 at 7:43 pm #

    Dear fling,

    So, I have this really bad trait that doesn’t let me just forget about things or people. I kept trying to figure out what went wrong, why you didn’t want to talk to me about it, or talk to me at all. I have figured out that I don’t want to make you talk to me and that getting things off my chest will make me feel better but not necessarily you. I have a need to deal with why things go wrong so that I can learn from those experiences. I always talk to my “exes’ because they give good insight into why I always seem to run away or fuck up relationships. I get scared a lot about letting myself feel vulnerable with people. You made me feel vulnerable during glimpses of our “relationship” and I think that is why I closed up.

    Last weekend: I was extremely nervous going down there because you didn’t seem as into this as I was. You weren’t making any effort. You had told me that but I didn’t really believe you because your actions were so much different from your words. Some of your words did not coincide with the fact that you didn’t want a relationship. You would hold me so tight and kiss me in front of your friends. Yes I did want some sort of relationship, but I also didn’t want a serious relationship, I just wanted to keep the possibility open. I think we both kind of closed up that weekend and it was really awkward for me at least. I know you were sick, but I just didn’t know what to do to make you happy again. I wasn’t making you happy and that was really upsetting for me. It took going to see my parents to see that I was so much happier being with them than I was just sitting in your apartment in the awkwardness, which probably stemmed from the dissonance of our feelings. Maybe it wasn’t even a dissonance, because I wasn’t sure about you anymore, and you weren’t sure about me.
    Do you really not want to be in a relationship, or do you just not want to be in one with me?? I think if we were right together it would have been really clear that we should have been in a relationship. The other option for that is that we were actually really good together, but the pressures to conform to the normal dating patterns were really getting to me.

    I would like to be your friend if anything. I have really liked getting to know you the past 3 months. It makes me sad that you won’t talk to me. I really hate being ignored and I feel like I have to ignore you or else I’m going to go crazy trying to figure out why you are talking to me. Are you really just that cold that you don’t care?? See you may try to use that excuse, but something else has to have happened because I wouldn’t believe you. You really do have a beautiful heart. You may look at the world with distain sometimes, but you are an amazing person regardless for helping those who are unable or who just need someone to listen. You have this rough exterior, and you even realize this, but a soft interior. I don’t know what parts of yourself that you weren’t ready to share because you had let me see some really amazing ones. I know that you had been hurt by her and were not ready to Love me. I don’t think I deserved that yet, but I think I deserved a little emotion and care. I need to be with someone that wants to be with me for me. Honestly I thought you were heading there and then you disappeared.

    Well of course I have kind of fucked this up so that even if you did want something I’m pretty sure you really don’t anymore. Yes I kissed one of your friends. Yes that was a horrible move on my part, but I was pretending not to care for a while because I was hurt and it was better that way. He just kind of got mixed up into all of this. He has been really nice to me the past couple weeks, I sometimes confuse people’s friendship for something more and that is definitely not the case in this situation, you know how he is. I feel like I can’t even call you immature for completely ignoring and running away from your problems because I did a shitty, immature thing. Honestly, I did not do it to hurt you, I just forgot about your feelings and know that it was because I was not thinking.
    I guess you can look at this way: you now have an out that doesn’t make you seem like an asshole. I’m the flirt that gets way to friendly when she gets drunk and you are the innocent that got crushed by the pretty girl who seduced his friend into kissing her.

    Congratulations for making this all my fault.

    Powerless

  5. Alex April 18, 2009 at 10:26 pm #

    Thanks for your letters! Keep them coming!

Leave a Reply

