Question for readers/participants

16 Apr
Comment and let me know.

Comment and let me know.

I have received a comment on one of the letters that have been posted. I’m in a tricky situation. Do you think I should allow commenting on letters?

Pro: It would allow for more of a community/discussion feel.

Con: I don’t want people to be discouraged to write for fear of judgement.

People who have already submitted, what do you think?

People who plan on submitting, would that deter you?

Readers, do you want to comment?

Thanks,

-Alex-

7 Responses to “Question for readers/participants”

  1. N April 16, 2009 at 5:38 am #

    I say no to commenting — the tried and true PostSecret doesn’t allow commenting on secrets, and it works very well that way.

  2. Brandy April 16, 2009 at 7:17 am #

    I say no comments. I don’t think the idea is to promote conversations with each other over blog. The point is to get what you want to say out with no worries of being judged or critized. And hey, if nothing else, and someone has a comment about a letter… they can write a letter…

  3. poster/reader April 16, 2009 at 7:59 am #

    i wouldn’t mind comments.

  4. Katelyn April 16, 2009 at 5:32 pm #

    I wouldn’t mind commenting, either. I think it would be interesting to hear what other people have to say about my thoughts. However, I do agree that it might discourage some from writing their thoughts down.

  5. Jen April 16, 2009 at 6:02 pm #

    I think comments should be disabled to prevent people from posting things that are judgmental or critical of others’ feelings. Also, post my letter! 🙂

  6. Kelsey April 16, 2009 at 6:25 pm #

    I think comments could be beneficial and give people a way to say, “Yeah, I’ve been there too” or provide another perspective. You could have a “Comment Policy” page saying no personal attacks and other types of negative commenting that you want to discourage, and if a comment violates the rules reject it. You could also add something about it to the letter submission guidelines so that if people don’t want comments on their letters, they could just say at the end, “No comments, please” or something like that. In short, I’m pro-comment, unless the letter writer feels otherwise.

  7. cdean April 16, 2009 at 8:59 pm #

    What Kelsey said. 🙂

Leave a Reply

