Dear Brandon

31 May

Dear Brandon,

Why is it that God “puts people in your life for a reason” and then rips them right back out?  I knew the moment I met you that I loved you.  It seems so ridiculous to say, but there was never any question in my mind.  Apparently, there was no question in everyone else’s mind either.  Everyone knew.

I worked so hard to get that time alone with you and it was the best time of my life.  No one will ever hold me the way you held me.  I will never feel that safe again.  No one will ever kiss me the way you kissed me.  I will never feel that spark again.  No one will ever make love to me the way you did.  I will never feel that wanted again.

You died.  I thought there was no way to make it, but I did (only because of my little girl).  We are coming up on the 1 year anniversary of your death.  I am leaving home for the weekend.  No one can see the amount of pain I’m still in.  I want to go lay on your grave because that is the closest I can be to you.  My heart died that day with you.  As corny as it sounds, I will never find the feelings I had for you here on this earth.

We had our problems, but I loved you more than you will ever know.  I will never be able to love like that again.  Too much of me went with you in the accident.  I pray that one day we can be together again.  It’s the only way I believe I will be happy.

With all my heart,
Broken

P.S. Please help take care of my Mom up there.  I miss her.  I know you will be there for her.  She loved you too.  I love you

2 Responses to “Dear Brandon”

  1. donna May 31, 2009 at 7:52 pm #

    Thank you. It means so much that I was able to say what I could never say out loud.

  2. Amanda June 3, 2009 at 9:29 pm #

    That was beautiful. I had a friend die 2 summers ago and I still talk to him regularly. I write him letters in my journal every six months and I think he can hear me. It’s a much brighter world when we believe those who have passed can hear us. I wish you the best!

Leave a Reply

