Dear World

19 Jun

Dear World,

I love you! I love your imperfections! I love how we humans rejoice when we feel the music, or are inspired by something. I love the music we sing, the books we write, the structures we build. I love how tiny we are, and how we think we know so much. I love that mother nature lovingly, but sternly puts us back in our place when we think we’ve conquered her. I love how we dream. I love that we share a common soul, that we have the capacity to love each other. I love that we never learn our lessons, but are endearing enough anyway that the soul of the Earth doesn’t wipe us off the face of the planet. I love how the Earth nourishes us, how we nourish each other. I love that we are allowed to spend roughly a little under a century learning everything we can about this wonderful place. I love you, I love you, I love you! I love that we dance and sing and offer it all up to Something we don’t even understand, Something that is much greater than any names we give It and the restrictions we
try to squeeze It into. I love our cultures, our differences, our similarities, our fears, our silly behaviors, and the fact that we really are animals, but that we really do think and wonder. I’m in love with everything about you, World. All the people, rocks, water, spiders, kangaroos, clouds, babies, temples, trees, and little chances you provide us everyday to be inspired.

Sincerely,
Your daughter, sister, and friend

3 Responses to “Dear World”

  1. Amanda June 19, 2009 at 10:52 pm #

    Sometimes I think I’m the only person who feels that way. I’m glad to have a kindred spirit. People look at me so strange when I just stare up at the sky and enjoy whatever weather we’re having. It makes me sad when people don’t think the Earth isn’t alive. It is the most alive thing ever. I’m happy to hear you love it as much as I do! I wish you the best of luck and I hope you enjoy the Earth some more!

  2. Sara2009 June 20, 2009 at 2:57 pm #

    Both of you- you are wonderful people. I am so glad there are others like me out there! 🙂

  3. suzy June 23, 2009 at 12:30 am #

    What a wonderful, optimistic, uplifting and inspiring letter! We should all spend more time appreciating whats around us than being sad about what isnt. You’ve made me smile 🙂 Thank you.

Leave a Reply

