Dear Simon

21 Jun

Dear Simon,

(Not actual family in letter)

(Not actual family in letter)

I think about you everyday — it’s been 3 and a half years since you died, but I still remember you everyday. We have a daughter Simon, you never even knew she existed, I didn’t find out until you were gone. She’s beautiful and funny and smart but also cheeky and so much like you it amazes me sometimes. I hope you can see her from wherever you are, and I hope you’re looking out for her and looking after her just as you would have if you were here.

Don’t worry about me Simon, I’m happy, I had a little boy about 18 months ago with my husband. I think you’d like my husband, he’s a good man, and I love him so much. He’ll never replace you though, you’ll always be in my heart, and you’ll always be my little girl’s daddy.

When she gets a bit older I’m going to tell her all about you and how you were amazing and funny and clever and what a good dad you would have been, how you would have spoiled her rotten and treated her like the little princess that she is.

I feel guilty for thinking about you sometimes, I have a great life, and I love my husband more than anything but I still wonder what life would have been like if you hadn’t gone out that morning. I wonder what it would have been like to raise our little girl together and what married life would have been like with you. I hope that I’ll get to see you again someday and I can tell you all about our amazing little girl.
Love, Nats x

(Editor’s note:: Happy Father’s Day Simon)

One Response to “Dear Simon”

  1. anon June 22, 2009 at 11:24 am #

    wow, you’re strength amazes me, how you carried on after he passed i’ll never know but i’m glad you’re happy and have a good husband now.. Best of luck to you and your family in the future x

Leave a Reply

