Dear “I prayed”

28 Jun

I prayed,

I did what was best for both of us, I hope you see that. I did not want to hurt you, but would you rather me lie to you for another month. I was faithful to you til the end, but I prayed about us and the conversations we’ve had and we are not meant to be more than friends and I am sorry I dragged you into a relationship with me to figure that out.

I didn’t do this to be with someone else, I may be single for the rest of my life, fine. You may never talk to me again, which will not be ok, but you do what you have to.

I did not make you stop talking to those other friends of yours, that was your choice, but they had no right to say those things about me and maybe now they are saying “I told you so”. I’m sorry if they are.

You need to understand that our futures were not matching up at all and it is not fair to expect either one of us to change that for the other. Our thoughts and plans for our futures were complete opposites of the spectrum.

I pray that someday you may understand, and before it is too late.

I do love you, and you will always hold a place close in my heart.

Yours truly,
Pain

3 Responses to “Dear “I prayed””

  1. Michelle Solomon June 30, 2009 at 11:46 pm #

    Your letter, at least in part, is what I wish I had the clarity to say to my first boyfriend, whom I loved, but with whom I just couldn’t see a future. I needed things he just couldn’t provide. I completely didn’t blame him for this; I know he loved me very much, but I needed a man who was more assertive and open. Perhaps it was just timing; we were both really young, and we were each other’s first relationship; perhaps as he’s grown older he’s become more sure of himself. I hope so.

  2. Rachel July 6, 2009 at 2:44 pm #

    I just got a letter like this from the boy I’ve loved since middle school. It hurts more than anything to know that the person you love will never love you back. I always thought I was a pretty strong person…turns out I’m not, all the time in the world can’t take away my pain. So to my ex : thanks for using my heart to figure out ‘who you are’. I hate you so much because I’ll never get over you.

  3. scared August 20, 2009 at 1:51 pm #

    While reading thats all , i was crying… cuz…
    my ex bf which i loved with all my heart and even more would write the same things….
    sad..
    i love him still. even if i know we will never be together..

Leave a Reply

