Dear Grandma

8 Jul

Dear Grandma Ervie,
I knew that time would come when you would no longer be here. You were 98 years old and in the hospital. You were a hard working woman who had a life well spent. You raised your daughter, grandchildren, and great grandchildren right. The night before your funeral I cried myself to sleep. Thinking of all the fun times we had together. Even now as I write this letter I begin to tear up. I miss you with all of my heart and I can’t believe you’re gone. You were always there for me and I could count on you to hear whatever I had to say. But when you got older, your memory began to slip. Suddenly you didn’t know who I was anymore. Every time I would come to visit you in the hospital you would call me by some other name that wasn’t my own. It broke my heart to hear it I knew you were just getting older and it was harder to remember simple things like someones name. Deep down I still believed you would always remember who I was and that I was your great granddaughter. I will always remember you. I love you and miss you.

Love your great granddaughter

Leave a Reply

