Dear Grandma

11 Jul

Dear Grandma (my hero)
I know because of my busy schedule I don’t have time to talk to you as often as I like.  What I wouldn’t give to be a little kid again running around in your backyard with my cousins.  I miss those days.  While my mother and father were busy at work they didn’t just drop me off at any babysitters, they took me to your house.  I know I don’t tell you this much but I will now.  You are my hero, you have always been there for me when times got rough.  Whenever I needed a shoulder to cry on or someone to laugh with, you were there.  And when I look back at all you’ve done for me there are no words to describe it.  What can I say, you mean the world to me and I love you so much!  You truly are my hero, my superman in disguise. The reason I do all that I do is because I want to make you proud of me.  I want you to be as proud of me as I am of you.  You’ve been here through my whole life and I don’t ever want to lose you.  Some days I think about what would happen if I did lose you, and honestly I think that I wouldn’t be able to make it through.  Because you are my rock, you’re a inspirational beam of light that will always shine over me.  You act as my lighthouse, as long as you’re guiding me I will never lose my way. I love you.

Love Sally Ann

2 Responses to “Dear Grandma”

  1. CARA July 11, 2009 at 6:20 pm #

    Call her. A lot. I didn’t call mine as often as I should have and then I lost her last year. Not a day goes by that I wouldn’t give everything I have for more time with her.

  2. Lauren July 11, 2009 at 8:49 pm #

    I ‘lost’ my hero: my grandpa. I was away at college when he passed away. I did everything I could to make him as proud of me as I was of him. Like your grandma, he was my superman. It cut me to my core when he passed, and for a very long time I was not alright; in fact, I don’t think I am 2 1/2 years later. Despite being the last one to speak to him before he passed, I still felt cheated of time. I never had a chance to say goodbye. But I learned to survive and to know that he is watching over me from somewhere else. You too will find a way to survive when she passes. Please remember, you will never lose her. As long as you learn her tales, her values, and her advice, you’ll never lose her. As long as you have the memories, the laughs, and the love for her, you’ll never lose her. As long as you tell these stories to friends and family, she’ll live forever. She’ll never die. That’s why I never say my grandpa died; he just passed away.
    But for now, cherish every moment. Don’t forget to say, ‘I love you’ before you get off the phone and before you go home.
    Best wishes and enjoy your time with her.
    Lauren

Leave a Reply

