Dear Mom and Dad

13 Jul

Dear Mom and Dad:

How can two people who call themselves “Good Catholics” be so cynical upon return from church?  You both walk in the door and immediately Dad is talking with such hatred in his words.  Calling people “a dumb Mexican or whatever race they are” or “good for nothing son of a bitch” hating anyone who crosses his path who is different than he is. And he just walked in the door minutes ago from church.

When he makes a harsh judgment about somebody’s race, or religion and then I question it by saying “what did that person do?”  You both jump on me and try to make it seem like I am the one who is “wrong doing” and am “just trying to start trouble” in your effort to get the attention off your ugly words and embarrassing actions.

When I ask “what did that person do?” or “do you know that person?” I ask for two reasons, either I want to learn what that person did to make them worthy of this judgment, or to maybe hope that Dad will hear himself when he answers the question “I dont know him/her” and me then asking “then how do you know he/she is a bad person?”  You both get really angry at me and try to transfer the anger on to me.  Well, I am not accepting that behavior.

I ask Dad why does he feel he can judge people like that? I say that is not what a good Christian would do.  He yells and says “I can say things like that because I do go to church unlike YOU whose’ opinion doesnt count for anything because you don’t go to church.”

Bottom line, it’s wrong to hate and judge people no matter what.  You have not walked in their shoes and have no idea what they have been through or how much emotional pain they have suffered and endured.  Hearing you talk like that hurts me and is very offensive.

Mom, you make excuses for Dad and justify why it’s O.K. for him to behave like this.  His constant yelling is NOT acceptable, you justifying him is NOT acceptable. We are grown adults and fully understand English, talking instead of yelling would suffice. This IS abuse.

If anything I learned from you both on how NOT to be like you.  I see how ugly it is to talk ill or judge somebody because they are different.  How do you know YOU are not the “different” ones?

The beauty in this country is that people have the right to be who they are to get to where they are going in this world.  As far as I know there is only one judge and if you are as religious as you claim to be, you should know who that is.

I don’t physically go to church on Sunday it’s true, however, that doesn’t make me a bad person because as far as I can see, you both go to church a lot and it hasn’t helped one bit. Why go?

4 Responses to “Dear Mom and Dad”

  1. Bella July 15, 2009 at 7:08 am #

    I really enjoyed this. I go to a Christian college, and I feel the same way about the people there. A lot of them judge others without even knowing the person. I am a Christian, but because I do not practice exactly like them, sometimes they think of me as an outcast. I believe Christianity comes from the heart and one should interpret it how they believe God is telling it to them; and by this they should practice what they preach and be concerned about their own ways instead of judging others and putting others down by telling them they are wrong. Everyone’s beliefs are different and that is why there are so many wars about religion, but if everyone just kept religion to how they believed in it, wouldn’t the world be a better place because everyone would be satisfied in themselves (making themselves happier), therefore leading them to help others without discouraging them?

  2. Laura July 17, 2009 at 3:53 pm #

    This hurts me to read, because I’ve met similar people, and even my own parents have done things like that. But it makes me even more sad to think that people might group Catholics and generalize them as hypocrites. Please realize that there are some sincere ones out there! Every religion has those people who get it wrong, but the spirit/creator/life force/whatever it is, is bigger than our pitfalls.

  3. Taylor July 18, 2009 at 2:54 am #

    I will pray for both you and your parents. Remember “Do not be overcome by anger, but overcome anger with love.” – Romans

  4. Taylor July 18, 2009 at 1:09 pm #

    Whoops I need to practice my quotes a little more; ” Be not overcome of evil, but overcome evil with good.” Romans 12:21

Leave a Reply

