Dear Commenter

1 Aug

Dear Commenter,

Call each other equals?I am such a wimp.  I started composing a comment to follow up your comment on Her blog post about how tough it is to show up at a gym when you’re overweight…but I chickened out.  Do you care if I share it with you anyway?  First off, you’re awesome for making time to get to the gym.  I can never seem to prioritize well enough to get around to it.  I am so out-of-shape it’s not even funny.  I need to get serious about my health.

On to my purpose here.  It made me a little sad, a little frustrated, a little ticked off when I read your comment which repeatedly referred to thin people who exercise as ‘stupid skinny people’.

So, here it goes: We’re not all stupid.  Even us skinny people have issues.  I am probably more out of shape than most of the people you see in a day and I have struggled my entire life with being UNDER weight.  (I know, poor me, being too skinny.  I get that all the time, it’s why I usually don’t say anything.)  I am a stick of a person and I can’t help but wonder how nice it would be to find a top that fits – even sort of – in the WOMEN’S section.  I am darn near close to 40 years old and I have never been able to shop in the Women’s clothing section.  Does that make me less of a woman?  Size-wise, I guess you could say YES.  I don’t like shopping in the junior’s section because I look like one of those ladies who is still living in the past and can’t accept that she’s an adult now and needs to dress like one.  I hate that my oldest daughter wears a larger size than me (she’s 14 years old and wears a 5… a FIVE!  That is normal!) and feels fat because she wears bigger clothes than her mom.  Do you think I enjoy that?  Because I don’t.  I HATE it, and I don’t use the word HATE lightly.  I also HATE that I have to shop for bras in the little girl’s section.  Can you imagine how embarrassing that is?  I can’t wear shorts or capri pants because I can’t stand all of the comments I get on my “chicken legs”.  Any time I bring up the fact that I need to start exercising to my friends I get a few eye rolls along with comments about how I just need to eat more.  How no one wants to exercise with me because I’m skinny.  I can’t even find anyone who wants to walk (for exercise) with me because they’re sure I’ll be too fast.  I could go on and on, but it hurts, so I won’t.

You hate being overweight?  Being stick skinny isn’t exactly a walk in the park, either.  We all have our issues.  Let’s just treat each other as equals and look beyond size.  Please?

If you don’t call me stupid, I won’t call you ignorant.

Sincerely,
Chicken Legs

3 Responses to “Dear Commenter”

  1. Shadow August 1, 2009 at 7:54 pm #

    This letter is wonderful! You voice my feelings almost precisely, except for a few things. I hate how everybody’s so jelous of how skinny I am; meanwhile, there are consequences to being underweight, and at the same time not being able to gain any weight. Kudos to you!

  2. Michelle Solomon August 1, 2009 at 8:33 pm #

    I’m obese – fat – whatever. It is what it is – I’m 5’5″ and weigh 340 pounds, so the statement of calling myself fat is merely stating a fact and not the result of poor body image. I always wonder what people think of me when I’m at the gym working out. Not the staff, who are all really supportive, but the thin, in-shape people who see me working out, who stops after 17 minutes of being on the Elliptical.

    But I do want to thank you for that post. It sucks shopping for clothes for myself – but it sucks for you, too. We should go shopping together sometime.

  3. Amanda August 3, 2009 at 8:02 am #

    I liked your perspective on this. I have always been over weight, well since the age of about 5. I’m now 20, 5’8″ and almost 300 lbs. You know what? I couldn’t be happier. I do hate one thing. I restrict myself at the gym because I’m too worried what other people think. I can go to town on the eliptical, I’ve been working out since I was 15 so muscles really aren’t the problem. It’s the losing weight thing. Plus I think everyone is watching me at the gym. I’m scared to try running or even weight lifting because I’m scared I’ll look like an idiot. If I were there I’d go walking with you! I think people also need to realize that just because someone is fat doesn’t mean that they aren’t in decent shape. I’m not saying I’m in good shape, but I have a lot more muscle than a lot of people. I can bench press about 200 pounds. I have a lot of muscle it’s just under the fat. So lets just all stop worrying about what others look like or what others thnk of us and just focus on getting healthy.

Leave a Reply

