Dear Readers

2 Aug

To the readers of unwrittenlettersproject.wordpress.com
I know that unrequited love is a fairly typical problem, but I know that a lot of you (especially if you’re on this website) probably feel the same helpless, stuck, heartachey feeling that I felt for so long. I know you probably feel like I did – that you would never get over that special person who decided they didn’t want you. That you would spend the rest of your life pining for them, wishing things had turned out differently. I just want to tell you: IT’S NOT TRUE. I felt the exact same way, and I’m here to tell you from experience that you WILL move on, the emotional wounds WILL fade and life will go on. You’ll find someone who appreciates you for you. I know it’s hard to see the light when you’re in the middle of the darkness, but things change and so do feelings. You’ve probably heard it before, the over-used saying about unrequited love: “If they’re stupid enough to walk away, be smart enough to let them go”. Easier said than done, right? But it really is true. I know it seems like that person is the only one for you and you can never be whole without them, but eventually you’ll realize that you need to find someone who feels as strongly for you as you do for them, someone who appreciates everything you do. One day, you WILL find that person, and then you’ll realize – THIS is how it’s supposed to be. THIS is what all the fuss is about. THIS is what love is – not waiting around for phone calls that may never come, not watching the person you love kiss someone else, not pointless pining and aching. Love is unconditional mutual acceptance. Don’t make someone a priority when you’re only an option to them.

And of course, you can’t see the rainbow without making it through the pain 🙂

Love always,
K

3 Responses to “Dear Readers”

  1. Patricia August 2, 2009 at 9:38 pm #

    True words, beautifully said!

  2. olivia August 3, 2009 at 1:25 am #

    This is so true. I’ve been going through the same thing for the past couple of weeks. I actually wrote a letter about it on here. I finally just realized that I don’t need people in my life who don’t need me in theirs. And I totally am going to live by that from now on, no matter who walks in my life and seems like “the one”. I like to say that I built a wall to see who loves me enough to climb over it! 🙂

  3. Amanda August 3, 2009 at 8:05 am #

    but how do you”get over them” when you’ve tried? I’ve been in love with the same guy for 5 years. We’re best friends and yet he can’t see what we have. I have given up on him time after time. I’ve built that wall. I once went 6 months without a single flicker, and then one word and I’m right back in his hands. how do you stop trying when everything in you is telling you you have to keep going?

Leave a Reply

