Dear Runaway Man

3 Aug

Dear Runaway Man,

The “I love you”‘s were beautiful.  The promises were perfect.  I believed it all.  I thought you were the one.  You thought I was the one.  You said forever.  You said our love was unconditional.  You said you were the luckiest man to have me, that I was perfectly beautiful, that you wanted to marry me, that I was your best friend.  I thought that I had finally found a true love after so much heartache and many mistakes.  You loved me and I loved you.

Then you told me that you didn’t love me anymore.  You said that you knew the promises you made and all the times you said “I love you” but that you didn’t know what you were saying.  You said you could never love someone like me.  You told your friends and family lies about me.  Your sisters sent me angry letters filled with hate and contempt.  You sat across from me and lied to my face.  You insulted me and told me that you had more important things to do than to talk to me.  You said that I wasted you time and you could do better.

You never loved me.  Unconditional love doesn’t do that to someone that you love.  I spent nights wanting to yell at you, wanting to hit you, wanting to drive my car to California, wanting to hurt you like you hurt me, but I couldn’t.

Because even after all that, I still love you.  Even now.

Danielle

One Response to “Dear Runaway Man”

  1. Olivia August 4, 2009 at 3:48 am #

    Doesn’t it suck when you want to stop loving someone so bad because they hurt you but you can’t???
    Love is a tragic thing.

Leave a Reply

