Dear “I Hate the Way you Love me”

5 Aug

Dear Chuck,

I hate how you love me. You love me in the worst way possible, and I still sit here and take it. I raise our two kids, I take care of them and our house, while you sit on your computer and stare at it all day. You never lift a finger to help me out, only saying that you work to pay the bills. All you do is drive a box truck back and forth between warehouses for 8 hours a day, and then you come home and pass out on the couch or sit and play your video games until the late hours of the night. You ignore the kids, you ignore me. Once in awhile you feel it’s ok to buy me something to make up for never spending time with us. Doesn’t it bother you that your daughter never misses you when you’re at work? Doesn’t it bother you that when you come home, she hardly notices, but when I come home, she treats it like a celebration?

I’m tired of only getting attention from you when you’re “in the mood”. Have you thought about my feelings? Have you put yourself in my shoes? You won’t let me have a job, because then you’d have to stop playing your game and actually WATCH the children. We can barely pay our bills. You won’t bother to try and find a better paying job, because they might drug test, and you’d have to give up your precious smoke. You won’t bother looking for a second job, even part time, because that would cut into your Mabinogi time with your friends across the country. Instead, you spend what little extra money we do have on weed, video game cards and beer. In the meantime, I’m borrowing money from my parents for things I need, like tampons and aspirin. At least you buy diapers and clothes for the kids. I’m still wearing my sister’s hand me downs from five years ago, before I had kids. It’s a wonder they even fit.

However, I still just can’t leave you. I keep thinking things will go back to the way they were before you discovered that stupid online game. You used to be a great father, a great boyfriend, and just a great person all around. I’m still hoping that one day, you’ll realize your family is more important than those kids on the other shore, and what kind of weapon you’ll be using in your next dungeon.

Love, your girlfriend

One Response to “Dear “I Hate the Way you Love me””

  1. ME August 5, 2009 at 9:26 pm #

    I can totally relate to that first paragraph. I’m sorry your having to deal with this.
    BTW I despise Halo Wars.

Leave a Reply

