Dear Daddy

10 Aug

Dear Daddy,

Words are not enough to express how much you mean to me. Even while thinking about what I want to write to you I am having trouble because I don’t really see a way that I can express my gratitude to you.

I think that ever since the day I was born I was your little girl. Mom always tells the story about how you wanted a boy and then when you found out my sex how you weren’t even disappointed because you knew I would be better than any son ever could be. I know you would never admit it to my sister, but I think that I was always your favorite. We have everything in common, including our looks and I could talk to you for hours about anything. You have told me you are worried about me finding some boy who is going to take your place, but I want you to know there will never be a better man in my life.

I know I don’t always listen to you at times, and I know that it hurts you. I wish I could take all those terrible decisions back that caused you and Mom any kind of hurt. I am mostly sorry about Steven. I wish I would have told you earlier because waking up in the hospital and seeing you with that look in your eyes, a look mixed with hurt and anger and about 100 other emotions, was probably the most painful moment of my life. It hurt me more than my broken hand at the time. I am so sorry and so grateful. You truly were my guardian angel and still are, Thank you, thank you, thank you for then and for everything.

I love you so much and cannot imagine having a better, more fun, more concerned, and more amazing dad than you. You truly are my best friend. I love you.

Daughter

2 Responses to “Dear Daddy”

  1. Amanda August 11, 2009 at 6:21 pm #

    I am glad you recognize what you have because I would give anything to have that relationship with my dad

  2. ihatemoths November 8, 2009 at 6:48 pm #

    Me too.

Leave a Reply

