Dear Those in Love with Their Best Friends

19 Aug

Dear Those In Love With Their Best Friend,

I know for some people it works: best friends turn into boyfriend and girlfriend, or girlfriend and girlfriend, or boyfriend and boyfriend. For some people it’s perfect.

But I’m sorry. I love you so much.

But I’m not in love with you.

I know you’re in love with me. But I’m not in love with you. I know you have never told me directly, but you’ve hinted and I can tell. I don’t know what to do, I don’t want to lead you on but I think you already know that it’ll never happen between us.

I love you so much.

But I’m not in love with you.

You are an amazing, beautiful and wonderful girl and I love you to pieces but I don’t love you in that way. I wish you could see that you deserve someone better than me, someone who loves you back and can be with you. You deserve the best, and I’m not, I wish you could see that. I know at the moment you think you’ll never find anyone else, but you will. I know you will.

I hope you get over me soon. I’m always going to be here for you, no matter what, but I don’t think we can continue as we are if you don’t get over me. I know that’s not easy and it’s not simple. I will do anything to make it easier for you, if you want me to go away, I’ll do it, if you want me to stop texting, I will. It’ll hurt me, but if it helps you I’ll do anything you want. I’ll always do anything for you.

I love you. And I’m so sorry that I don’t love you the way you want me to. But I do love you, and I will always be here for you, and I will always look after you. But please, try and move on from me. I’d rather you left me completely than for you to have to know your love isn’t reciprocated, I’d rather you left me than have to watch me go out with other people, I’d rather you were happy and I was left without a best friend than you be unhappy.

I love you,
Your Best Friend

8 Responses to “Dear Those in Love with Their Best Friends”

  1. Amanda August 20, 2009 at 4:42 am #

    If only it was that easy.

  2. Laura August 20, 2009 at 1:26 pm #

    This was heartwrenching. I guess you just have to believe that things will work out, that there’s a plan for us, and that we just have to be patient.

  3. Jane August 23, 2009 at 3:42 am #

    I wonder if my best friend loves me that much? I wonder if he misses me since I told him I can’t see him for a while? I wonder if he knows how much I love him and how much I miss him.. I wonder.

  4. Best Friend August 23, 2009 at 5:04 am #

    Thank you… I needed to hear it, I needed to know something, and it seems I read it at just the right time. I am not sure why I decided to love him, and I am not sure it is love. I do know it isn;t recipocated and I know I need to let it go. he just is that wonderful to me. I want him to stop calling, i want him to leave… But he won’t and neither will I. Again I needed to hear it, and I will work on leaving.

  5. Amanda August 27, 2009 at 5:08 pm #

    I tried that once, the whole not talking, not seeing each other. I wanted to give him the ultimate birthday present, me not loving him that way anymore. I tried I really did. We cut off all communication and it broke my heart. But day by day things got better. I was finally able to stand on my own. After 3 months of tearing myself apart I finally was ok. Then he called and came for a visit. I was right back in that hole again. I’ve given up all hope of ever curing this or of ever changing anything. It’s just not in me.

  6. claire August 28, 2009 at 7:10 pm #

    man, thank you for writing that. It was like it was written about me.

  7. ihatemoths November 8, 2009 at 6:29 pm #

    This is happening to me right now. My best guy friend is in love with me, and I’m not in love with him. I used to be, but then I got a boyfriend, and moved away, I’ved since moved back and ever since then, the tables have turned. It’s all too late now though because the feelings I had for him arent there anymore and I wish they were because it would make everything so much easier for both him and myself. Ahhh life

  8. 'That Girl' December 14, 2009 at 6:41 pm #

    For a moment, I really thought it was my best friend writing this for me..

Leave a Reply

