Dear Miss N

24 Sep

Miss N,

I know it’s been a while, but I’ve been busy, as you also have been.  Hope summer’s going well, and your interim classes are great.  To the point at hand then.  I’ve known you for a long time, and you quickly became my best friend.  You were always there for me, and I tried to be there for you whenever you might have needed me.  I know almost as much about you as myself, and I tried to let you know me that well too.  But here’s the one thing you don’t know: I have liked you from the first minute I saw you, and have loved you for over a year now.  I cannot picture my life without you in it.  You are the last thing that goes through my head before sleep takes over, and my day isn’t the same without your presence at least once.  You may wonder why it took me so long to say this, why I would wait until our senior year, and I can honestly answer you, “I was afraid.”  I was afraid of how you would react, afraid you wouldn’t feel the same way, and most importantly, afraid of losing your  friendship.  I cherish the times that we have had together, and the closeness that we have developed.  But there was no way that I was going to make it through a fourth year without telling you this.  Even if it isn’t mutual, I needed to get it off of my chest.  If you don’t reciprocate the feelings, I’d rather not know.  That way we can, I hope, continue our friendship without any changes.  I send this to you in love and hope.

Your friend(?),

Mister S.

One Response to “Dear Miss N”

  1. Polka September 25, 2009 at 2:35 pm #

    Change a few of the circumstances and this could have been my letter. You express my emotions very well.

Leave a Reply

