Dear Best Friend

22 Oct

To My Best Friend,
You know I love you more than the whole world. I’ve spent countless numbers of late nights up on the phone with you, keeping you from doing something stupid, trying to keep your head on straight and letting you know that no person, no matter who they are, should ever put you down. Now, you’re dating someone I was once close to. I get to see a little more about you, and I’m realizing how much of you is just a phony scam. Seriously, cut the act. Listen to what you’re saying: you’re not mad because “they want you to change”. You’re mad because they won’t change the way you want them to, and they won’t put up with your stupidity anymore than I have. The thing is, I can’t tell you this to your face, because you just don’t get it.

I’m sick of my closest friend acting the victim while they are treating their significant other like crap. And when you are mad at your S.O., you take it out on the whole world, like it’s our fault that you’re pissed off about some insignificant little detail. Frankly, I think everyone around you needs to stop putting up with it. One day, you’re going to chase the person who has fought so hard to have a relationship with you away, and none of your friends are going to want to be there to help pick you up from the pieces.

Sooner rather than later, the real world is going to smack you in the face. It does it to everyone, and some people figure it out before it happens. You, I fear, will not, and you won’t be able to take the hit. I wish that I could help you, but I can’t. But you need to learn how to treat everyone with respect, not talk down to people constantly, and so on. You do it without even realizing you do it now…and that hurts all of us. We’ve watched you change, and we don’t like who you are anymore. Maybe you should do some reflecting. We’re not going anywhere…but we won’t deal with a spoiled rotten brat. Period.

– The Person Who Is Still Trying To Care

Leave a Reply

