Dear ALL WOMEN

5 Nov

To all the women who were never told this,

Science can shove it for once!YOU ARE BEAUTIFUL AND OF VALUE SIMPLY BECAUSE YOU EXIST. Women are life-givers. There’s a kind beauty that no amount of makeup can ever accomplish or imitate: the kind that comes from a woman knowing that she has a place in this world. You might ask, “why do I deserve it?” or “says who?” and my answer to you is this: YOU’RE HERE. That’s why. Why else would you be here.

I know it’s hard to believe with all the bombardments of media and messages from males and disapproval and disinterest of parents we’ve had to face. But there is a spark of the infinite beauty of creation in each and every one of you.

Your bodies are incredible! Think of the function they perform–sustaining a growing life WITHIN them, and then nourishing that little life after it’s born. What an incredible mystery! Sure, we’re taught how it all works in 5th grade science class, but science will never be able to tell us why it works like that. So science can just shove it for once and acknowledge that women’s bodies are powerful and capable of things that men’s bodies are not!

Call me a feminist, call me whatever you want. Just know that, whether you know me personally or not, I love you. I love all of you. Simply because you exist. And I want you to know that, no matter where you are in life, what horrible past experiences you have, and what you have to deal with everyday, I love you. My heart goes out to each of you, and I hope that you will all, in your own time, discover the kind of beauty that comes from knowing you’re loved. If not by individual people, then by the universe!

Sincerely, Laura Beth

3 Responses to “Dear ALL WOMEN”

  1. Nikki November 5, 2009 at 5:40 pm #

    Thanks-that’s very nice, and we are SO much more than vessels for children. There are many of us that do not want children, and we are just as beautiful and of value as anyone else. I know I am.

  2. Sarah November 18, 2009 at 3:05 am #

    As Nikki said, we are much more than vessels for children. I have decided never to have children. Does this make me any less worthy or beautiful? I have so much I can contribute to the world without having a baby.

    Women are beautiful, but not just because they have a uterus.

  3. LB September 19, 2010 at 3:00 pm #

    Dear Nikki and Sarah,

    Didn’t mean to imply that women without children aren’t beautiful! Of course we are! It’s just a part of our physical makeup that I find awe-inspiring.

    The deeper symbolism here is that we create. We breathe life into everything around us, just by being here. That’s what I meant to communicate.

    Love,
    LB

Leave a Reply

