Dear Whom it May Concern

7 Nov

To Whom It May Concern:

I’ve made up my mind.

You all have told me “You can’t save the world.” It’s too big, it’ll never work, I’ll only end up with misery for myself, etc., etc., etc.

I would just like to remind you that I’m out here, eleven hundred miles from my home, for a reason. And you know what? I AM going to save the world. It’s going to bow to me in submission, little by little. First, college (nobody ever got anywhere without hard work!). Then, hopefully, a missions trip, and after that…well, who knows (well, besides God)?

All the things I’ve done back home were to try to help you grow, to assist you in realizing the full potential of who you are. You have collectively shunned me for it. I used to care, but I don’t now. I realize that there are higher, more important matters than trivial social stigmata. I will keep plugging along, doing as I have been.

As I write this, I am a freshman at a university. I am full of untapped, limitless potential. The paths before me are almost infinite, stretching to beyond the horizon. I have massive power, and I am going to use my God-given gifts to do something that REALLY matters.

I’m going to make a difference.

So, to those of you who have ever told me that I can’t save the world:

Watch me.

Leave a Reply

