Dear Robbie

9 Nov

Robbie-

Throughout our high school years, you and I had more feuds and mutual loathing than anyone else I knew.  We were constantly snapping at each other in class; we had so many arguments, and we always seemed to be competing for the same thing.  It didn’t help that our last names are similar so we always sat close together when teachers would assign seats.
Despite all of the bad times, I have one memory that sticks out.  One day my senior year I arrived at school crying.  Usually I spent the mornings with my friends sitting in the courtyard, that morning they all noticed my tears, and they asked me if I was okay.  I told them that it was nothing, I was just overly emotional.  They let it go and pretended it wasn’t happening.  I left the courtyard early so I could sit in the classroom alone before anyone showed up so I could pull myself together.  When I got there you were already there.  As soon as you saw me you got out of your seat, walked over to me, and you asked if I was ok.  Because I did not care about how you perceived me I said, “no, I am not okay.”  Then you hugged me.  At first I was hesitant to return the embrace but I gave in, and I wrapped my arms around you.  We stayed like that until the bell rang and the morning announcements started.
I just want to say thank you for letting me cry, for knowing that I wasn’t okay.  I needed it more than anything.  We weren’t friends or lovers but for those few minutes we were both.  At that moment we both saw who the other truly was.  The next day you teased me about soaking your shirt with tears, and we instantly went back to normal.
By the way, I think I’m in love with you.
JL

Leave a Reply

