Dear Dad

23 Nov

Dear Dad,

I love you. I wish you could realize that’s why I am doing this. It’s not because I hate you, or think you were a failure at being a dad, it is simply because I love you enough to tell you that you have a disease. All these years I have given you chance after chance, and I always believed your lies. Not this time. I gave you one last chance, and made it completely clear, but you still lied and broke your promise. So I’m sticking with my threat this time. I don’t know how I am going to do it, but I am going to.

I love you, and only by God’s grace can I do that. I want you to know Jesus so bad. He is the only one that has kept me sane through all these years of your struggle. Jesus wants a relationship with you more than anything. I don’t understand why you prefer a relationship with a bottle more than you prefer a relationship with him. I am sorry to leave you all alone, but it’s the only thing I can do. Maybe you will find Jesus in your brokenness(He is waiting for you).

I am moving out. And I know that you think that I am doing it because I hate you and hate all the things you’ve ever done to me, but it is just the opposite. I am doing it because I love you so much, and already forgive you for everything you’ve done. Please just learn to forgive yourself.

I love you.
Get well soon.

Love,
Your daughter.

Leave a Reply

