Dear Judge

29 Nov

Dear Judge,
  I know that you and I have been friends for a long time now, very good friends, and it pains me that we have to finally go our separate ways. In high school, we were extremely close, but I think that had to do with the fact that both of us had secret crushes on each other, but were too scared to admit it. The truth is, people our age cannot “just be friends” if they are a guy and a girl, eventually someone starts to have feelings for the other person. These feelings are what kept us together for so many years, even though we were growing apart, these mutual feelings kept pulling us back toward eachother, but now that I have gone away to college, things have changed. I didn’t want them to, but like you said yourself, “College makes you grow up.” Everytime I talked to you on the phone, you informed me about all the other changes the people back at home were making and how you were now unable to hang out with them because of these differences. I felt guilty because I had done the same thing as them, I had started drinking. You were extremely harsh on them and were very judgemental, so I felt alienated from you, and when you asked if I had drank before, I was forced to lie for the sake of our friendship. When I came home, I realized I couldn’t keep the secret any longer and finally told you, and you immediately were disappointed. I don’t see how this makes me any less of a person. I still am able to get straight A’s in school and do all the right things, I just sometimes have a sip or two of alcohol on the weekends. I don’t think it is fair that you can tell me how to live my life, I don’t tell you how to live yours, I never have. I’m sorry for all the pain I caused you, but I think that you should be glad I finally was honest with you. I’m very sorry!

                     Signed,
                        The Defendent

Leave a Reply

