Dear “it’s sad how things change”

31 Dec

Can you feel that?

Everything we have is slipping away. Drifting away…drifting apart. We’re drifting apart. I guess it was to be expected. But I didn’t think that it would hurt this much. I see you a lot, and it’s great but it’s only for a few minutes at a time, because really, when else are we able to talk? But I was okay with it. You know, a few minutes of fun here and there, everything would be okay. We’d stay so close.

But today it hit me. When I saw you with them. Having so much fun. It was then that I realized that you don’t need me anymore to be having the best time of your life. And it’s hard to accept, but what else am I supposed to do?

And now I don’t know what to do. I want to spend all of my free time with you, but I know for a fact that you have better things to do. And what happens next year, when we’re even further apart, both physically and emotionally. I don’t want to think about it.

In no way am I saying this is the end. Oh no, I think that if you ever left I wouldn’t be able to live anymore. I’m just saying I miss how things used to be. How we used to have classes together, and we’d talk after for a bit. Or more than a bit. And we just clicked.

So now what? How are we supposed to keep this in motion when we never get to see each other? My relationship with you is what I want more than anything else in this entire world, but I don’t think it’s quite the same for you.

It’s sad how things change. I hate how things change. But now all I want is for them to change back.

xoxo.

2 Responses to “Dear “it’s sad how things change””

  1. V December 31, 2009 at 8:51 pm #

    I completely understand. I’ve been in this position a time or two in my life. There’s nothing you can really do. Just let what’s gonna happen, happen. Life goes on. Just don’t let go too easily.

  2. Amanda January 1, 2010 at 3:11 am #

    I too have been in this situation a couple of times. I can’t say it gets easy because I still miss these people, but I can say you learn to deal. I lost 3 of the best friends I ever had in 3 years and I haven’t seen them in months. I once held them so dear and now I hardly think of them. Its not because you ever stop loving them or missing them, its because your heart can’t handle thinking of them constantly. I felt my bestest friend slipping away about a year ago because she lives across the country and I saw her for 5 days this entire year, but we both know that the other is doing everything to hold on. I hope you someday have someone like her. Everyone deserves one. All the luck in the world,
    Amanda

Leave a Reply

