Dear Love

19 Jan

Dear Love,
Lately, I’ve had a hard time believing in you.  When I was five years old, I remember watching “Beauty and the Beast” and thinking that if true love could overcome those boundaries, then of course I would be able to find it one day.  Yet, I’ve been waiting for a long time, and love in any form seems foreign to me.
Love, you seem like an impossible dream that I keep reaching for, yet it’s like one of those eternal nightmares where the target keeps moving away every time my fingers touch.  Over the past four years, I have seen marriages fail, breakups arise from fighting and men who’ve moved away.  It seems as if this fairy tale ideal of what true love should be keeps getting challenged, and I’m starting to doubt it to the point where I may give up on it altogether. I don’t want to live in a world where there’s a possibility that my boyfriend (or husband) will cheat on me.  I’m afraid of raising a child, of hurting them, of destroying their perfect worlds.  I’m afraid that what happened to my parents will happen to myself, and I don’t want any child of mine going through that pain.  It still hurts everyday of my life, and I should be over it by now.  I want to believe that there are people out there who wouldn’t succumb to the weaknesses that I’ve witnessed, but I don’t want to be hurt either.
If you ever want to find me, to remind me of what I used to search for, don’t hesitate.  I need you.
Sincerely,
Me

One Response to “Dear Love”

  1. Response January 26, 2010 at 2:32 am #

    I understand how you feel. i have been hurt so many times I feel like I have lost fate in man kind. the days get longer and I go through these long days moping around. Few people in this world realize what they can do to you when they hurt you. So few that it makes it true that there is only one person in this world for every person. But just hold on and wait. This person will come, they will prove that there is such thing as love with out lies, with out rapture, without pain. I hope this person comes for you, and i give you my best of wishes.

    Don’t give up on love,
    Another person still searching

Leave a Reply

