Dear Dad

18 Feb

Dear Dad,
I’m sorry I’m not good enough for you since you got your new family. I don’t know what to do to make you want to see me or talk to me. It’s been 5 years since I’ve seen you.Doesn’t that make you a little sad? I love you, but I hate you. I said it was fine that you didn’t come to my graduation because you had to mow the lawn, it was not ok, it’s still not ok, 3 years later. I feel like I should give up trying to talk to you. You don’t even know what I’m going to college for, its been what I’ve wanted to do since 7th grade. It’s interior design, and I’m going to make it big, and you’re going to miss out on everything. You’ve told me you’ll be stationed by me 3 times, and it hasn’t happened yet, I don’t understand why you keep lying about it to me. I hate that you didn’t ask me to see your retirement ceremony,  you were my dad before you were with her and had your “real family”, that should count for something. I cried myself to sleep for days when you told me you couldn’t help me with college because you have two of your own kids to pay for, why don’t I matter? I didn’t want you to pay for it, I just wanted to know that you cared a little.

the worst part is I’m still proud for being a marine’s daughter and brag about it … I wish you’d do that about me.

the daughter you’ve forgotten about

Leave a Reply

