Dear Could-Have-Been-Future-Father-In-Law

24 Feb

Dear Could-Have-Been-Future-Father-In-Law,

I only met you once, and I’ve been crying all day after hearing the news of your death. From what I saw, you seemed to be a wonderful man. I wish I could be with your son right now, I wish I could do anything to help ease their pain. I wish I didn’t have to go to class and sit through four hours of lecture when my heart is with your family. I know you’re in a better place, and I know that I’ll get to know you someday, after I pass on. But for now, say a little prayer that God sends his love down to all of us, and know that you were greatly loved. Thank you for raising a son that has become the love of my life.

Sincerely,
a young, sad, 20-year-old girl

Leave a Reply

