Dear Childhood

5 Apr

Dear Childhood,
I only have 3 years of you left before I have to dive headfirst into the grown-up world. I’m not ready yet. I’m not ready to give-up Saturday morning cartoons, or dressing up for Halloween, or being able to get away with practically anything.
So please childhood, or the next 3 years, please go by super slow.
I’m tired of you slipping through my fingers much like water does.
I’m just not ready, and I’m scared…

Love,
15 and Scared.

3 Responses to “Dear Childhood”

  1. pinkpointeshoes April 5, 2010 at 10:37 am #

    Dear Writer,

    Life doesn’t end at 18, if anything it becomes sillier and more childish from that point on! I’m 21 this year and trust me I’m still dressing up for halloween parties and watching saturday morning cartoons with my mates.

    The ‘grown up’ world may seem like a scary place now but when you get to it you quickly realise that it doesnt really exist, sure theres a bit more responsibility but there are also many more opportunities to kick back and have fun…to do all those things that as teenagers seemed far to immature.

    I really respect you’re desire to remain a child, today far too many teenagers are forcing themselves to grow up far too quickly. Just remember… Growing old is mandatory, growing Up on the other hand that’s optional.

    Love from

    Lolly … a 20 year old who is a long way from being a grown up!

  2. raptorsahead April 12, 2010 at 5:58 pm #

    i feel the same way and i’m about to graduate university!

  3. Freak Sisi April 20, 2010 at 2:50 pm #

    Amen. Imagine being 16.

Leave a Reply

