Dear Wall

26 Apr

Dear Wall,

I hate you so much. You’ve always been there, following me everywhere I go, to parties, out with friends; old and new, at school, at work. Why can’t you just leave me alone? All you ever do is make me look stupid. I can’t talk normally to people because you’re there, you make look snobby, stuck up, shy, defensive. You prevent me from letting people get to know the real me, I’m afraid all they’ll ever see and know is the fraction of the person you let them see. They won’t even know the real me. What is the real me? So very few people could tell me. Guys wont give me a chance because I can’t make a good impression. You make me wait so long before I can act like myself around them, and very few actually stick around. When you’re here, I’m boring, cold and tired. Very few will ever know the funny, confident, and caring person I am. I just don’t show it. I wish to tear you down one day, I’ve tried. It’s harder than it looks. I hope one day a person will see me and WANT to get to know the person behind my wall.

Until then I’ll be waiting, knocking you down, brick by brick.

One Response to “Dear Wall”

  1. Kida May 1, 2010 at 6:44 pm #

    It’s hard when you don’t think people see the real you. When you’re afraid (if you’re like me, that is) to show people who you are.

    But who knows, maybe you’re not like me. Maybe it’s not fear that keeps you from connecting with people. But if it is… you’re definitely not alone. I still have trouble opening up at all- I’m pretty sure some people actually think I’m mute. And that doesn’t really bother me.

    But there are people that it’s ok to open up to. That will accept who you are, no matter who it is that you are underneath the cool exterior. If you haven’t found them yet, I hope you do. I have, and it’s been a long road but this person has made me happier than I ever thought it was possible to be. It’s difficult, but it can be done.

    So good luck. I’m cheering for you.

Leave a Reply

