Dear S

19 Jun

Dear S,

My first intention was to write a letter about how much I still love you and how I wish we could be together.  But, somehow, looking at this blank screen I realized that I don’t know you anymore.  And you don’t know me.

This wasn’t any fault of our own.  It was just time.  We’ve been apart for too long.  While I have been thinking of you and dreaming of you and wishing for you, life has continued to happen.  I’m different now.  We’re different now.  I don’t love you anymore, and that’s okay.

Now, my only desire is to somehow, magically, impossibly, communicate to you (yes S, you) that I miss talking to you.  And thank you for how you used to make me feel.  It was nice.  I will treasure those memories forever.

Shoot me an e-mail sometime?  I’d love to catch up.

Thanks,

J

4 Responses to “Dear S”

  1. SS June 19, 2010 at 8:51 pm #

    If you and this person were meant to be friends, you would have remained friends immediately upon breaking up as many ex couples manage to do. … So, instead of potentially disrupting a person’s life who has evidently moved on and very well might be involved with someone else, cherish the memories of another time and of that person who positively impacted your life but was obviously not meant to remain in it. Not everyone is.

  2. Hannah June 19, 2010 at 11:45 pm #

    i have wanted to write a letter like this one.. but i couldnt find the words.. thanks for giving them to me.

  3. Marley June 20, 2010 at 6:10 am #

    This sort of fits my situation exactly. Lovely letter.

  4. M June 23, 2010 at 12:40 am #

    this letter brought tears to my eyes… I feel the same way about D.

Leave a Reply

