Dear Lifelong Best Friend

24 Jul

Dear Lifelong Best Friend,

I’ve known you since we were little children. I love you like a sister, really, but I’m not sure I can handle being your friend anymore.
Why? Because I feel like you kick me out of my own life. I bring you into my world, introduce you to my friends, and sooner or later, I start to feel like I’m the odd one out. It always happens.
Because of the comments, too. The comments you make, assuming you have some right to comment on what I choose to do with my life. I didn’t ask for your opinion on my dinner, my personality, or my future plans. I hate your snarky comments about my weight, my unemployment, or my inexperience when it comes to guys.
I don’t let anyone else judge me for those things, or at least I try not to, and it kills me that I let you get away with all of it–not just that, but your comments don’t roll off; maybe I’m too sensitive, but I take them all very personally, and it hurts.
So, we’ll always be sisters, even if we’re not related by blood. But best friends? Not if you keep this up. I’m really, truly sorry, but that’s how it has to be, for both our sakes.

Love,
Your Lifelong Best Friend

One Response to “Dear Lifelong Best Friend”

  1. a August 27, 2010 at 1:30 am #

    I could have written this word for word. Same “best friend”, same comments. Exactly the same. Except I ended it my “best friend.” I couldn’t be happier without her. Sometimes the best thing for you to do is to say goodbye. People are in your life for a reason, a season, or a lifetime.

Leave a Reply

