Dear Mom

3 Oct

Dear Mom,

You asked me a question recently that made my heart pound. You asked the question I have been dreading for 2 years. You asked the one thing I can not answer truthfully.

You asked if I was a lesbian.

I said no.

But truthfully, mom? I AM gay. I know you couldn’t bear to have a gay daughter, so I lied. I have known this for two years, suspected it for a year prior to that. It’s not something I can change-even if I wanted to. It’s not a fleeting thing, or an “experimental stage” as most people in denial call it.

I am a homosexual. I’m sorry that I continue to tell you what you want to hear instead of what I need to say.

your gay baby,

M

P.S. Did you know that your son D is bisexual?

One Response to “Dear Mom”

  1. GA2ROK October 6, 2010 at 6:03 am #

    There will come a point-in-time when you have to tell your mother what she needs to hear and not what she wants to hear. With all of my hear I truly believe on some deep down level your mother already knows the truth. She just wants to hear it from you. As long as you are willing to lie and dance around the truth she will gladly follow suit! You will be ok! With or without her grace you will live your AUTHENTIC LIFE! Good luck! Be blessed!

Leave a Reply

