Dear Neighborhood

27 Oct

Dear Neighborhood,

Why I called you ‘dear’ is beyond me. You are anything but in my eyes. And you know why that is? It’s because you were the worst. One moment, you would treat me with respect and care, as I always did to you. But the next moment, you would get with someone else and stab me in the back.
It wasn’t just once, either. There is still a sore scar on my back from all the times that knife went in. It was only at home did I get this treatment. At school, everything was great. Even though I didn’t have friends until 2nd grade. Now that I think about it, I was probably scared. Scared that they were going to be like you. Scared that those so-called “friends” were going to turn around and poke that scar you made right between my shoulder blades.
But you know what?
I forgive you.
You are the reason I’m the person I am today. You’re the reason I pushed to be better. I wanted to be better than you. Better than all your lies and scorn and hate.
I think I achieved that goal.

With no respect,
A Victim of Bullying

Leave a Reply

