Dear Inherent

3 Jan

Dear Inherent,

I’m a little bit in love with you. Today my long-distance boyfriend said he loved me, and I hesitated and almost cried. A rush of ideas pounded through my head: “I’ve decided this far to be faithful… I KNOW my boyfriend is an incredible person, we’ve been friends for ages….” and then I came to the quick conclusion–though, not quick enough–“Yes, I do love my boyfriend.” And I told him so. And I reiterated how I’ve chosen him over you many, many times over the past five months.

I do love my long-distance boyfriend. But I’m a little in love with you, too, best friend. Gimme a week or two. I’ll figure out how to tell you.

Your terrified friend,
Undecisive

Leave a Reply

