Dear Life

22 Jan

Dear Life,

So, you have been making me really nervous lately, and not for any good reason, either. You see, I want to write a book.  Well, not just a book.  Many books.  I want to be an author.  Preferably, a well-known and well-loved author but a normal one with a small fan base will do.

Unfortunately, you have been filling me up with doubts lately.  Some are completely unfounded.  Yesterday, I worried I was too old to become an author.  I’m 20-years-old!  That’s too young to do most things!  That’s not old at all!  Other worries are reasonable.  Maybe I’m not good enough, or marketable enough, or connected enough, or interesting enough to make it.  Maybe I’ll never achieve my goals.  Maybe I’ll get screwed over.

But, you know what Life?  I am 20-freaking-years-old.  I am going to college, I am practicing my writing, and I am studying like a mad-woman!  Yes, these fears are valid, but I have plenty of time to gain the skills I need to try.  I can worry later.

So, Life, why do you insist on filling me with fears now?  It really worries me.

Step off,

Anxious

2 Responses to “Dear Life”

  1. Amanda January 23, 2011 at 1:03 am #

    My dear we all great writers doubt themselves, that is the nautre of the beast! Why do you think so many writers abuse substances? It’s because on some level all writers doubt themselves and feel the need to fill something. Whether it’s the scars from a childhood, a lover or a friend or maybe just the need to stand out, we all feel the need to write and the overwhelming feeling that we are just not good enough. Darling you can do anything you put your mind to. Feel free to email me if you want someone to read or just to talk to about your writing process.
    The best of luck from a fellow writer,
    Amanda
    punkwc@gmail.com

  2. Karina January 26, 2011 at 3:27 am #

    You sound like me five years ago! I also want to become an author and it’s amazing how many of your worries still linger with me now that I am twenty-five years old. Trust me, they come and go, and every so often trickle their way in a little deeper than usual, but never stop believing that you can accomplish what your heart desires. If this is what you want to do, don’t let anything nor anyone stop you. Don’t just think you can do it, but KNOW you can do it.

    A few words of advice: Try to write everday. Carry around a pen and a small notebook or piece of paper to jot down ideas. As for me, I’m working on a novel and try to look at at, edit, and add material at least once a week. I have also started a blog to remind me of my aspirations. It’s easy to get caught up in another things (i.e. my full time job) and forget sight of what is important.

    Feel free to check out my blog: http://ababygirlproduction.blogspot.com

    Perhaps we can become writing buddies. I have one and we exchange material and give each others pointers and that has also really helped me.

    Good luck!

Leave a Reply

