Dear Dead Mother

26 Jan

Dear dead mother,

I’m sorry I blame you for how things are, the way I am, and how dad is now. It’s just so easy for me to blame it on you. I never really knew you. I have flashes of memories with you, but I was so young, I didn’t know anything about you. I don’t know your favorite colour, what music you liked, what your personality was like, what you were like in high school. I don’t know your opinions on the world or what hobbies you enjoyed. Although I blame you, I also thank you for the way I am. There is not a day that passes where I don’t think about you, or wonder how things would have turned out if you were still alive. I look at your photos and see how your smile is so bright and happy. Although there are many things I do not know, I do know that you were a selfless, kind hearted, caring women. I hope when I’m older, I can be like you, even if I don’t know exactly what that is. Thanks for everything. I hope you’re proud,

– your youngest daughter

Leave a Reply

