Dear World

11 Mar

Dear World,

I know that when I walk outside, trampling on the wet ground, I smile and everyone assumes I’m okay. I know that when I go to class and turn in my assignments and make good marks, everyone assumes I’m okay. I know that I am involved on campus and attend lots of events and everyone assumes I’m okay. I know that I wear Greek Life letters across my chest and have one hundred sisters that care about me and that they all think I’m okay. I know that I call my mother and father and say everything’s fine and that they think I’m okay. But no one ever asks. Not one person asks about the bags under my eyes or why I’m loosing weight. No one asks me why I can’t sleep or why I look like I’m about to break.

If you did ask, I’d tell you. So, someone, anyone, ask me. Please. Ask if I’m okay.

-Anonymous.

P.S. Ask everyone around you, not just girls that fit my life story. Sometimes we just need to be asked.

4 Responses to “Dear World”

  1. ashley March 11, 2011 at 4:21 am #

    Are you okay?

  2. Eve March 11, 2011 at 4:25 am #

    I know exactly how you feel. The same thing happens to me. Everyone thinks I’m okay, but no one ever asks me why I’m losing weight or why I’m so tired.

  3. Linda March 11, 2011 at 5:59 am #

    Are you okay? I’m here to listen to whatever you have to say.

  4. Christine March 15, 2011 at 12:00 am #

    Please do not lose hope. I have been there myself. There are people out there who care if you are okay. Please just reach out.

Leave a Reply

