Dear Anorexia

5 Apr

Dear anorexia,

A few years ago, you told me all those sweet, sweet lies about perfection and happiness. You made me lie to all those people that care about me, made me starve myself, you made me think I was “in control” when I was just sick… You defeated me then… And I wasn’t the only one. The battle’s not over, and it takes a lot of strength to defeat you, I have to say. Every single day.
However, I’ve noticed that you have found an even more painful way to torture me. Now you’re doing that to the love of my life, and I’m doing my best to save her from you before it’s too late… I’m constantly scared, that my best isn’t enough, though.
It’s not over, though. You might make me feel scared, powerless, guilty, hopeless, broken, lonely, lost, ugly, worthless… You might think that all those problems and challenges that I’m facing should make me such a vulnerable, easy target right now, but I promise, that this time I’ll be stronger than you.

Go to hell,
D.

3 Responses to “Dear Anorexia”

  1. Jes April 5, 2011 at 12:08 pm #

    You can beat it. I told anorexia to go to hell three years ago… I won. If I can do it, so can you. It’s really hard, but it’s possible.
    Good luck!

  2. Eve April 5, 2011 at 12:30 pm #

    Keep on going!

  3. Jill April 6, 2011 at 12:18 am #

    Ditto the other two, it’s tough but totally possible to overcome. Just this letter alone shows strength and will, you can beat it.

Leave a Reply

