Dear Mom

9 May

Dear Mom,

Happy Mother’s Day..How are you? Hope you’re doing good. It’s been a while…5 years, 7 months, 2 weeks, and 6 days to be exact. I bought you flowers…pink and white, your favorite. They’re sitting on my dining room table in that vase you bought in Florida on our girls trip that one summer. I remember you brought it home and then decided you had enough vases in your collection, so you gave it to me and told me to start my own collection that I could one day be proud of, like you were of yours. I have built up a huge collection since that day, just so you know. I always keep floweres in the house like you did when I was young. Every week is a new vase. I learned from the best.

I miss you. I hate that we don’t talk anymore. I was gonna call you…but I wouldn’t know what to say. Last time I called, you said you didn’t have a daughter…so what’s the point? If you don’t want a daughter, would you like a friend instead? Or maybe just a woman you see on some days and just casually wave to…would that be better? Because I need you in my life. I’m sorry for the things I said and did to you that night. I am. I was angry…we were both angry. I can’t say anything else.

I hope one day we can talk and you can meet my daughter. She’s an amazing little girl. You’d love her. She needs her Grandma and I need my Mom. I hope we can talk soon.

Love always,
Lilian

Leave a Reply

