Dear Grandma

3 Jun

Dear Grandma,
No one will ever understand how hard it was for me to lose you. For three straight years, I lost you almost weekly, sometimes daily, when you came in and out of your Alzheimer’s. Then, I lost you to your death. When I lost you though, I also lost my best friend. My role model. My hero.
Wherever you are now, I hope you can read this. I want you to know about the last six years of my life that you have missed. I’ve stopped basketball and became involved with theatre and art. I still love photography and try my best in school. I still want to be a lawyer when I am older. I still want to make you proud.
A lot has happened since you left, and I miss you more than words can describe.

Leave a Reply

