Dear You

28 Jul

Dear You,
I often wonder if you ever think about me. I think about you almost everyday. That week we shared in the hospital was special. It was like we found each other in hell and helped each other through. I can still remembered how scared you were, how frightened. I wonder if you went back to him afterward. He had left you black and blue and your mind a mess and still you said you loved him. I wonder if you went back to California with him.

I wanted you to stay with me. You were so beautiful and lost. We spent those days watching game shows and sitting through group therapy and staring at each other. We held hands for just a moment before the nurse scolded us.

You called me at Christmas. From where I don’t know. You told me not to worry about you, but I heard fear in your voice. I have thought about the fact that he might have killed you, beautiful you.

Wherever you are, whatever you’ve done, know that I never stopped loving you.

A kiss on your forehead for old times,
Me

2 Responses to “Dear You”

  1. Rachel July 28, 2011 at 4:30 am #

    This is beautiful. Beautifully written, wonderful emotion.

  2. Julia August 5, 2011 at 4:04 pm #

    I promise, she will know.
    I met a man, just like this, in a hospital where be both tried to kill ourselves. We were just kids, but the abuse was astounding. I loved him. And I am so terrified that he won’t make it.
    I understand. I know. But all you can do is hope, with all the hope you can find capacity for, that they will make it through. Because once you do that, you have helped her immensely.

Leave a Reply

