Dear College, I’m not sure…

4 Apr

Dear college,

For as long as I can remember, I have always known that I wanted to go to college right after high school. In my mind it was always been the only option. Know that I am in college, I found out that maybe I am not cut out for this college business after all. I got grades recently and I have found out that I am failing all of my classes except one. That is really bad because if I fail out I have no clue what I’m going to do since this was the only option of mine. I didn’t think that there was anyway that I could fail out of school. I study six hours a night and attend every classes, but apparently that is not enough. It doesn’t help that I am stressing about everything else under the moon: my grades, money for college, home life, and holding up friendships from high school. This is the most stressful thing that I have had to go through in a while. What am I supposed to do if I’m not made for this college thing because in this culture today you have to get a college degree to become anyone anymore. I want to become somebody. I don’t want to be that no one that is wasting away at McDonalds or somewhere else. I want to be the girl that has a college education that goes to grad school and follows her dreams. That is what I want and that is clearer to me than anything else. BUT I can’t do any of that without passing college and I’m not sure if I am made out for that. What am I supposed to do in a culture that the only way to succeed is the one thing I’m not sure if I can accomplish?

One Response to “Dear College, I’m not sure…”

  1. jehellum April 4, 2012 at 4:42 am #

    Hi there,

    I’m a lecturer in a university in New Zealand (like an associate prof). You need to figure out why you’re failing your courses. Make appointments with the profs and the TAs. Ask them what you’re doing wrong and how you can improve. It may be hard to hear, but if you want to succeed, it’s the only option. What most first year students don’t realise is that college or university is very different from high school. You have to think on a wider scale than you did for high school. It’s a huge leap in maturity of thinking, and it doesn’t come easily to most. It sure didn’t to me. Your problem could be a really simple fix, but you won’t know that unless you ask. Be proactive about this. Make them give you answers. If you can’t get them from the teaching staff, go to student services, or whatever the equivalent is where you are. There are likely tons of options for helping with study, and they’re there for students in your position. The very best of luck to you.

Leave a Reply

