Dear Friend

29 Jun

Dear Friend,

It’s been just over a month since you backed out on our ‘follow-our-dreams’ plan, and I’ve barely talked to you since. I know I told that I was okay with you not moving out west with me and that I supported your decision, but I really wasn’t. Maybe it’s because you waited until we were in LA looking for a place to live to make a decision or maybe it’s because you stopped calling me once a week after that trip or maybe it’s because you ran off to Europe for a month. I’m hurt because I was excited, and I quit my job, and I severed my agency contract because we were a WEEK away from moving. And I can’t afford to move by myself yet. Now I’m frustrated and I feel so lost and I am so pissed because you backed out on me. My dreams are put on hold, I’m floundering for another job so I can start saving AGAIN so I can live alone, and you went to Europe (a place we were going to travel to together). You haven’t even bothered to send me an e-mail telling me your okay. It’s not fair – my life comes to a grinding halt because of the choice you made and in exchange you get to see the world. I don’t get a lot of support from my family in regards to my career and my desire to move (to pursue my career) and I thought, of all people, you wouldn’t let me down. But I forgive you. I know you were going through a rough time, and I know you don’t know where your life is headed. I just wanted you to know that it hurt me, but I’ll figure it all out – I usually do because “baby, I’m a star”. You probably won’t read this; I don’t want to say all this to you over the phone either, but on the off chance you see this: I forgive you, and I support you, and I hope all your dreams come true.

Always,

Your former roommate

“You are as young as your faith, as old as your doubt; as young as your self confidence, as old as your fear; as young as your hope, as old as your despair.” -Douglas MacArthur

Leave a Reply

