Dear Mum & Dad, I trusted you…

12 Nov

Dear Mum and Dad,

Would you like it if I disappeared? Because I honestly don’t know how to be what you want me to be.

Sometimes I think the decisions that you made for me when I was a teenager was for the best – was for my benefit, for my future. But these days, I cannot help think that it was more so for your benefit, your ego, your pride, your concept of perfection, an idea that I cannot live through.

People are different, we were all made different. Why could you not accept the fact that I had dreams and plans too? Why could you not be supportive? Why did you think that my dreams and passion were any less important than yours?

I trusted you to be there for me. I trusted you to guide me. But you didn’t and I’m so so very sad because the biggest regret of my life, right this very instance, was to trust you, trust that it’ll all work out, that this was for the best, that I’ll be alright.

Because I’m not. I really am not.

You made the decision for me because the decision I had made was something you could not deal with. So you dismissed it and acted like you knew better.

You were much wiser than me. You still are much wiser than me. So why couldn’t you see this? Why couldn’t you see that this would happen? And now I’m struggling to figure out how to live a life that was never mine to begin with.

Your Daughter.

One Response to “Dear Mum & Dad, I trusted you…”

  1. Mom November 24, 2012 at 2:29 am #

    My Dearest Child,
    I am sorry, please forgive me; Thank you; I love you, Mom

    I am pretty sure this is what your Mom wants you to know. It is what
    I want my own Daughter to know… You see, Mom’s aren’t perfect.
    We make it up as we go along, with the best information we have
    at the time. Please talk with her and allow her to give you comfort.
    I don’t want you to hurt anymore.

Leave a Reply

